Midget/Silver Crown

Series Info

  • History
  • Vehicle Specs
  • Teams


Toyota will be entering its ninth season of USAC competition in 2014. Since the program’s inception, Toyota-powered drivers have won 88 races in the National Midget Car Series, Silver Crown and Sprint Car racing. Included among the victories are three consecutive wins in the Turkey Night Grand Prix Midget Car events from 2010-2012, the Night Before the 500, the Copper World Classic and back-to-back Hoosier Hundreds in 2011-2012.

Toyota-powered drivers also have won four USAC individual driving championships with Christopher Bell winning the USAC Dirt Midget Car championship in 2013, Jerry Coons Jr. taking the Silver Crown title in 2009 and Nic Faas and Alex Schutte earning top honors in Western State Midgets in 2008 and 2010. Also in 2010, Kody Swanson became the first Toyota driver to win in all three national classes in the same season with wins in Midgets, Silver Crown and Sprint cars. In 2011, Toyota rookie Kyle Larson earned AARWBA first-team All-American honors.

In 2013, Toyota drivers captured 15 USAC Midget Car Series victories, along with two Silver Crown victories. In addition, Toyota expanded its presence into POWRi, where Toyota-powered drivers won 15 races, capped off by Zach Daum winning Toyota’s first national Midget Car Series championship.

  • Type Aluminum block and head with canted valves, Normally aspirated, four-cylinder inline, piston/pushrod with a displacement of 166 cu. in. (2721 cc).
  • Horsepower 375+ hp RPM limited to 8,700 per regulations.
  • Fuel Methanol
  • Fuel Capacity Fuel, 18 gal. min.; Oil, 9 qt. avg.
  • Speed Fastest official lap average is 139.553 mph set by Bobby Santos III at Pikes Peak International Raceway, Sept. 16, 2006.
  • Body Front engine, rear wheel drive, open-wheel style constructed of Tubular 4130 normalized steel; min. 1 3/8 in. O.D
  • Front Solid front and rear axles with torsion bar or coil spring suspension
  • Rear Solid front and rear axles with torsion bar or coil spring suspension
  • Tires Hoosier Bias-Ply racing tires
  • Brakes 1(dirt) or 2 (pavement) front discs and 1 inboard rear disc
  • Car Weight 1050 lb. min., including water, oil, fuel and driver
  • Wheelbase 66 in. min., 76 in. max.
  • Overall Width 65 in. max.

Daum Motorsports

  • OwnerDan Daum
  • SponsorsToyota/TRD, Daum Crop Insurance, Weld Wheels


Zach Daum

Powri Midget Car
Sponsors: Toyota

Keith Kunz Motorsports

  • OwnerKeith Kunz
  • SponsorsToyota/TRD, Advanced Racing


Christopher Bell

POWRi Midget Car
Sponsors: Toyota

Tanner Thorson

POWRi Midget Car
Sponsors: Toyota

Rico Abreu

Powri Midget Car
Sponsors: Toyota

Parker Motorsports

  • OwnerParker Machinery
  • SponsorToyota/TRD, Parker Machinery, Stanton Engines


Tracy Hines

Midget Car
Sponsors: Toyota

Ronk Racing

  • OwnerScott Ronk
  • SponsorsToyota, Concept Chassis, D.T.I. Motorsports


Parker-Price Miller

POWRi Midget Car
Sponsors: Toyota
  • All Content
  • Videos Only
  • Photos Only
USAC Midget/Silver Crown
Aug 17, 2014
See More