[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive] Toyota Racing > Series > Nascar Sprint Cup [an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Sprint Cup

Series Info

  • History
  • Vehicle Specs
  • Teams
Sprint Cup


In 2006, Toyota announced it would enter the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (NSCS) beginning in 2007 using the Camry. Sprint Cup teams Bill Davis Racing (BDR), Red Bull Racing Team (RBRT) and Michael Waltrip Racing (MWR) debuted the Camry in its first NSCS race at Daytona International Speedway in February 2007. Later that season, BDR’s Dave Blaney won Toyota’s first Sprint Cup Series pole position at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. The biggest news that year came off the track, though, as Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc., and Joe Gibbs Racing (JGR) announced in September that the three-time championship-winning team would campaign Camrys beginning the following season (2008).

In 2008, Denny Hamlin earned Toyota’s first Sprint Cup Series victory in the non-points paying qualifying race in February and less than a month later Kyle Busch registered the first regular season NSCS victory at Atlanta. Including Busch’s inaugural triumph, Camry drivers have registered 49 wins in Sprint Cup Series competition over the past five years, with three separate teams and seven different drivers winning races.

In 2010, Hamlin and in 2012, Cling Boyer (MWR) placed second in the final NSCS standings -- the best overall finish for a Toyota driver since the manufacturer entered the NSCS in 2007.

In 2011, Camry drivers won six races, and Busch and Hamlin were among the 12 drivers that participated in the Chase for the Sprint Cup Series championship playoff.

In 2012, the sixth season of NSCS competition for Toyota, Camry drivers won 10 races. Clint Bowyer, Hamlin and Martin Truex Jr. qualified for the 12-driver Chase for the Sprint Cup championship playoff with Boyer finishing second in the final NSCS point standings -- equaling Hamlin’s runner-up result in 2010. Hamlin recorded a series-best five wins, and Bowyer earned three wins in his first season behind the wheel of a Camry for MWR.

In 2013, Camry drivers recorded 14 wins -- a single-season high for Toyota in the NSCS -- and started from the front of the field 12 times. Matt Kenseth placed second overall, matching the second-place showings from Bowyer in 2012 and Hamlin in 2010.

  • Type Toyota Camry Racing V8
  • Displacement 358 cu. in.
  • Power 850 hp
  • Induction Electronic Fuel Injection
  • Bore 4.185 in.
  • Stroke 3.250 in.
  • Compression Ratio 12.0:1
  • Engine Design TRD, U.S.A. (Toyota Racing Development)
  • Fuel Sunoco Racing Gasoline, E-15
  • Fuel Pump TRD, U.S.A.
  • Exhaust TRD, U.S.A.
  • Transmission 4-speed manual w/ reverse
  • Clutch 3-disc
  • Final Drive 9-in. ring-and-pinion
  • Chassis Steel tube frame with safety roll cage
  • Body Toyota Camry
  • Designer TRD, U.S.A.
  • Spoiler 70-degree angle
  • Front Unequal length double wishbones
  • Rear Trailing arms with Panhard rod
  • Shock Absorbers Hydraulic, single adjustable
  • Wheels NASCAR Steel 15 in. x 10 in.
  • Tires Goodyear Eagle
  • Brakes Cast-iron disc with multi-piston caliper
  • Weight 3300 lb.
  • Length 198.25 in.
  • Width 77 in.
  • Height 54.25 in.
  • Wheelbase 110 in.
  • Ground Clearance 3.5 in.
  • Fuel Capacity 18 gal.
  • Safety 6-point safety belts
    Window net
    Fire system in cockpit and trunk areas
    Side-impact energy-absorbing foam
    Roof Flaps
    Hood, trunk, wing and spindle restraints

BK Racing

  • OwnersRon Devine, Wayne Press, Mike Wheeler
  • Crew ChiefsDave Winston, Dale Ferguson
  • SponsorsDr. Pepper, Burger King


Alex Bowman

Toyota Camry
Sponsors: Dr. Pepper

Ryan Truex

Toyota Camry
Sponsors: Borla Exhaust

Joe Gibbs Racing

  • OwnerJoe Gibbs
  • Crew ChiefsDave Rogers, Darian Grubb, Jason Ratcliff
  • SponsorsM&M’s, Doublemint Gum, Snickers, FedEx, Dollar General


Kyle Busch

Toyota Camry
Sponsors: M&M’s/Interstate Batteries

Denny Hamlin

Toyota Camry
Sponsors: FedEx

Matt Kenseth

Toyota Camry
Sponsors: Dollar General

Michael Waltrip Racing

  • OwnersMichael Waltrip, Rob Kaufmann
  • Crew ChiefsBrian Pattie, Chad Johnston, Billy Scott, Chad Walter
  • Sponsors5-Hour Energy, Peak Motor Oil, Aaron’s Sales & Lease, NAPA AUTO PARTS


Clint Bowyer

Toyota Camry
Sponsors: 5-Hour Energy/PEAK/AAA Insurance

Jeff Burton

Toyota Camry
Sponsors: TBA

Brian Vickers

Toyota Camry
Sponsors: Aaron’s Dream Machine

Michael Waltrip

Toyota Camry
Sponsors: BlueDEF, AAA

SWAN Racing

  • OwnerBrandon Davis
  • Crew ChiefSteven “Bones” Lane, Randy Cox
  • SponsorsLean 1, Swan Energy


Parker Kligerman

Toyota Camry
Sponsors: Lean 1/Swan Energy

Cole Whitt

Toyota Camry
Sponsors: Lean 1/Swan Energy
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]